Pan-Fried Sea Bass, Butternut Squash Wedges and Garlicky Bacon Kalettes

Five ingredients, that’s it, five. Proof that if you want good food you just need good quality food.

Sea Bass, what I would call a fishy fish, flavour wise (i know I should be a food critic with descriptions like that). It is though a nice change from the over used cod. The skin was nice and crisp, i used a small sprinkling of pepper to give it a little kick. The flesh was flaky and soft as it should be. It has reconfirmed that I do like fish. I never eat it, I will always choose meat over fish but I think things may change.

Onto the squash, such an amazing flavour. Roasted squash has become one of my favourite flavours. I have always skinned them though no matter how I have cooked them. My mind was blown when I read that you can roast them with the skin still on. I thought they would be tough and chewy but like always I was wrong. They were soft and sweet and the best part of the dish.

Kallets? Never heard of them? Don’t worry I hadn’t either, they are a cross breed between kale and Brussels sprouts. I am going to do a post about them so I wont go into to much detail here. I will say they were lovely. I am not a fan of Brussels sprouts so I wasn’t to eager to try them. Thankfully they are sweeter and taste more of kale than of Brussels sprouts.


Slice your squash into some form of wedges, toss in some olive oil with salt and pepper and put into a pre heated oven for thirty minutes at 220C. Cut the tough bottoms off the kalettes, like you would to your sprouts. Grate your garlic and chop your bacon. Cook the bacon for a few minutes in a pan with a splash of oil, then add the kalettes and cook for another five minutes stir in the garlic and keep it on the heat for another thirty seconds. Remove the mixture from the pan and into a bowl, cover with tinfoil to let the kalettes steam till the rest is cooked. Wipe out your pan and when your squash is nearly done add some oil and cook the sea bass skin side down for three minutes, turn it over and cook for another three minutes. Once everything is cooked plate it up and enjoy the great flavour of simplicity.

This meal was from our HelloFresh box Www.hellofresh.co.uk

Leave a Reply

