Jamie’s Grilled Steak with Herby Brown Rice

Steak that melts in your mouth matched with roasted red pepper, feta cheese and pistachio’s, need I say more.

As I grow older and with the more steak I eat I am finding that I need to cook it less and less. Even since I started the blog, at the beginning I would have said I was a medium/rare kind of guy, now I am definitely in the rare category. It seems the more you cook it the more flavour is lost. Now, I could go on about the cuts of beef and the way they should be cooked but I have just decided to do a separate post on this. 

One of my favourite flavours is roasted red pepper. Most of the time though I have to make do from a jar. Here I actually got to roast them myself, which although is very easy, the change you get from the pepper is amazing. Its hard to describe, the sweet, crisp and crunchy pepper turns into a sweet, soft and err… well, roasted one. The rice is simply mixed with parsley, spring onions, extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper and the zest and half the juice from a lemon. This is served undereneath the sliced steak and roasted red peppers. This is topped with yogurt with lemon juice and salt and pepper. 

What really makes this dish though is the addition of feta cheese and pistachios. The saltiness of the cheese and that unique flavour from the pistachios make this dish come alive. I loved this meal, it is one of the reasons I enjoy cooking, making something that has few ingredients taste like you have used the whole cupboard and fridge.

This meal is from our HelloFresh box Www.hellofresh.co.uk

Leave a Reply

