Perlite/Vermiculite Experiment

In a previous post I talked about the benefits of using perlite and vermiculite in your potting compost. One of the things I had learned was that you can grow seeds directly in either of them without the need for any compost. So I decided to test the theory by trying just that. So, here are my pots, one of each, and in each are 4 seeds each of tomatoes. I know it’s to late in the season, I am not expecting them to produce me any tomatoes. I just want to see if the seeds will grow till their first true leaves appear. 

I have my doubts, my guess is perlite won’t do anything and vermiculite, if one does germinate will not last very long. 

I’ll post again if and when I see any little shoots coming up.

Leave a Reply

