Homemade Rocket Pesto Orzotto With Charred Courgettes and Tomato Salad

This is a Hello fresh meal see the recipe at www.hellofresh.co.uk

I wasn’t going to post this one as I don’t like the photos and to be honest, although the dish was nice I wouldn’t say it had a wow factor worthy of posting. I liked the orzo and the way it was cooked it was like a risotto with pasta. Although like my wife said why didn’t we just have risotto. The salad was nice, nothing special. I’m a big fan of rocket so it was nice to have that and it added that lovely peppery flavour (that reminds me I need to grow more rocket)

The reason for this post though was the pesto. You had to make it yourself which for someone just starting their cooking adventure is like letting a junior doctor do brain surgery, well not quite but you get my drift. When you taste pesto it’s very complex , there’s big flavours and being able to create that gives you a real sense of achievement. Ok, now I have made it I know how simple it is but still.

This pesto had basil and rocket mixed which gave a different flavour to what you are used to from a jar. I added more oil than it said as it was like a sponge. Pesto you buy in a jar always has Excess oil. This however just soaked it up. Not that I’m complaining those of you who have read my other posts know I would be happy drinking olive oil from the bottle. 

Leave a Reply

