Sumac and Sesame Crusted Steak with Tomato Chickpea Mash and Green Beans

This is not my recipe. This recipe came with our Hello Fresh box. www.hellofresh.com

We have a split decision on this one. My wife wasn’t that impressed. She said the chickpea mash looked like it was going to have more flavour than it actually did. I do agree with that to a degree but I still really liked it and thought the flavours worked really well together. I loved the green beans that had been cooked in the pan with some of the sumac and sesame seeds.

I have never had sumac before and found it gave the steak a great flavour. It wasn’t overpowering at all. I would (try to) describe the flavour as fragrant and punchy. I thought it was a kind of Morrocon or North African flavour. Reading up though it is more a Middle Eastern spice used in hummus, salads, kebabs and much more. There are probably a few hundred types of sumac tree and shrub but most produce dense clusters of reddish fruits.


(Picture courtesy of Wikipedia)

These red fruits are dried and ground to make the spice.

Leave a Reply

