Summer Jumble with Halloumi and Sweet Potato

This is not my recipe. This recipe came with our Hello Fresh box. www.hellofresh.co.uk

Halloumi, sweet potato, chorizo, roasted onion. Everything in this dish should practically assault you with flavour, you see the colours in front of you and your mind starts to paint a picture of the flavours you are going to taste; the red of the pepper, the orange of the sweet potato, the green of the spinach, White of the Halloumi. In your mind your are getting a Leonid Afremov painting (who by the way I would buy every painting I could find if I won the lottery). Unfortunately it never quite lives up to it.Don’t get me wrong it’s a great dish, it just never lives up to the promise it gives you in the pictures. Neither of us could put our fingers on it. The flavours were there, they just seemed to be muted somehow. 

There was plenty of this so I saved a portion to have for lunch the next day. This time I enjoyed it much more. I don’t know if it’s because I had it cold, the flavours seem to work better together than the day before. Maybe it is just more of a lunch meal than a dinner one. Now I will happily make this again for my lunches. 

I love sweet potato, not only for the flavour but how can you ignore the health benefits. One sweet potato for instance gives you over 350% of you daily vitamin A intake. Plus it’s good for vitamin C, B-6, magnesium, potassium and fibre. Also while having more sugar than its white cousin it has less calories. That is not to overlook the humble white potato it to boasts some great stats, for me though I will always choose the sweet. 

Leave a Reply

