Pork and Apple Burger with Rosemary Chips

This is not my recipe. This recipe came with our Hello Fresh box. www.hellofresh.com

I had high hopes for this meal, I love burgers and I love the combination of pork and apple. Unfortunately there were a few issues. One which was my fault was that I put too much Rosemary into the burger so it kind of overpowered the other flavours. Luckily wE like Rosemary. The other issue which we have come across before was the cooking of the burger. You are meant to cook it for 4-5 minutes each side in a pan on medium to high heat. I had to put them in the oven as before these times were up the burgers were getting seriously black. I cannot blame the recipe maybe I don’t know my cooker as well as I thought. Anyway that and there is no sauce in the bun gave us a slightly dry burger.

The chips were great, crispy, salty and the scattering of some of the Rosemary gave them a lovely flavour. I always prefer home made chips to their store bought counterparts. For starters as with this recipe I leave the skin on which always adds a little flavour and if cooked right goes nice and crispy. Also I find some of the store bought chips are a bit floury in taste and consistency. 

The salad helped bring the dish together. It added some well needed moisture to the burger and the flavour was great. The dressing was an orange and herb mixture which really gave the whole meal a twist.

Leave a Reply

