BBQ Rib Rub

Here is my BBQ rub that I used on my Birthday BBQ Chicken and Ribs. It’s a great sweet rub that forms a crust on the meat as it caramelises. It has a real depth of flavour that doesn’t overpower the meat. There is nothing like a good rub on your meat to take it to the next level. This rub goes with nearly anything but for me the King of the backyard BBQ meat is pork ribs. If you have a good butcher always use them. I have tried ribs from the supermarket and they are not the same. 

Next up I want to try beef ribs and if I can find it an American style Briskett. I’ll post more about that later. Here is the recipe for the rub. 

150g firmly packed dark brown sugar

150g white sugar

85g smoked paprika

3 tablespoons garlic powder

2 tablespoons ground black pepper

2 tablespoons onion powder

2 teaspoons rosemary powder

I add salt the night before to give it a chance to dissolve into the meat then the day of the BBQ I add the rub a few hours before. During the cook I wil spray the ribs with apple juice every hour or so. About 20-30 minutes from the end I will spread some BBQ sauce over the meat. This time I just used HP honey and BBQ sauce as its all I had and actually it worked really well. 

These measurements and timing should be followed very loosely as all meat and tastes are different. 

Leave a Reply

