Grilled Salmon Tarator with Bulgher Wheat Tabbouleh

This is not my recipe. This recipe came with our Hello Fresh box. www.hellofresh.co.uk

Follow the link to the recipe on their website The Recipe

Tarator, tarathor, taratur, or ttalattouri (Bulgarian, Macedonian and Serbian: таратор, Albanian: Tarator, Turkish: tarator, Greek: τταλαττούρι (Cyprus)), is a soup, appetizer, or sauce found in the cuisines of Eastern Europe. It generally includes ground walnuts, garlic, and yogurt or tahini, and often cucumber, herbs, and vinegar or lemon juice. – Wikipedia

Thank you Wikipedia, never heard of this before but will definitely do it again. Mine was quite thick, which is how the recipe showed it. It complemented the salmon perfectly. I would also be happy to just use it as a dip for an assortment of vegetable sticks. I have to say we ate this dish late and the mint and parsley had to be thrown so I replaced them with coriander and basil from the greenhouse.

 The walnuts didn’t really add flavour but gave the dish some bite. The onions were also a great addition. I have obviously cooked onions before but just adding red wine vinegar while they cook and letting it evaporate gave them that little bit extra. 

I probably over cooked my salmon a bit but it was still soft and flaked apart. I also had to drain my Bulgher wheat, I measured the right amount of water but never mind. It didn’t affect the flavour. Maybe I added too much oil? Not sure if this would affect how much water it absorbed. 

All in all this meal didn’t go perfectly or should I say I didn’t do it perfectly. However it was still a great easy dish that I would give an easy 7/10.

Leave a Reply

