Cod with lemon and tomato risotto 

This is not my recipe. This recipe came with our Hello Fresh box. www.hellofresh.co.uk

Follow the link to the recipe on their website The recipe


I have to admit I’m not a big fish eater. Not through a dislike of it but more down to the fact I like meat more so given the choice I will always go with the turf over the surf. My second admission, I had never cooked a risotto before this. My wife always cooked the risotto if we had it and she is the Arborio queen. She never failed to deliver, always, it turned out perfect. Accompanied with sun dried tomato, basil and mozzarella stuffed chicken it would never fail to impress. So I had my reservations about cooking it. Would the Rissoto turn out the right consistency. Would I be able to cook the fish right I had never cooked a piece of fresh fish in a pan. The only fish I tried were the fish you get in a bag and put in the microwave.
Like all good recipes as long as you follow them properly you will end up with a great dish. This was no different, the risotto was near perfect (this is my opinion I’m sure there are differing views on the perfect consistency of a risotto) the fish was soft and flaked apart in delicate waves. The flavours were subtle and fresh while still being as satisfying as a meal twice its size. 

For want of a happy marriage I won’t comment on the comparison with my wife’s risotto but let’s just say I would have been happy if I had been served this meal in a restaurant. Please don’t think I am blowing my own culinary trumpet I am not. All credit to this meal goes to whoever in the Hello Fresh team came up with the dish and wrote the instructions. All I did was follow them exactly. 

Leave a Reply

